Skip to main content

Students who are New York State residents and live in counties other than Suffolk are eligible to pay resident tuition if they obtain and submit a Certificate of Residence from the office of their home county chief financial officer. (Links to forms for various New York counties can be found below.) Students are urged to take this action to avoid being charged the non-resident tuition rate, which is double the resident rate.

Students Must:

  • Apply for a Certificate of Residence (COR) to their home county chief financial officer (see links below);
  • Receive a copy of the COR from that office
  • Write their SCCC ID number on the front of the COR
  • return the completed COR to the college by any of the following methods:
    • By mail:
      Suffolk County Community College Office of Financial Affairs
      NFL Building -Suite 232, 533 College Road, Selden, NY 11784-2899.
    • By email:
    • By fax: 631-451-4444
The Certificate of Residence must be filed no more than two months before the start of the semester. It is valid for only one year, and must be renewed every year, as needed.

Students are strongly advised to keep a copy of their COR.

Certificate of Residence Application

  1. Nassau County
  2. New York City (Bronx, Kings, Manhattan, Queens, Richmond)
  3. Cayuga County
  4. Delaware County
  5. Erie County
  6. Onondaga County
  7. Ulster County
  8. Westchester County
  9. Other New York Counties (Generic)