

Assessment Advisory Council September 26, 2019 William J. Lindsay Bldg Room 309 3:45 p.m. - 5:00 p.m.

In attendance: Dr. Christopher Adams, Dr. Courtney Brewer, Kaliah Greene, Dr. Patty Munsch-Eilbeck, Dr. Helen Wittmann, Dr. Alexander Atwood, Dr. Caroline Burns, Dr. Jing-Yi Chin, Theresa Dereme, Lauren Liburd, Toni-Anne Nhotsoubanh, Isaac Oddoye, Dr. Jeffrey Pedersen, Dr. Jean Nicolas Pestieau, Rachel Schmidt, Elizabeth Spagnola, Scott Votke, Dr. Helen Wittmann

Co-chair Kaliah Greene welcomed members to the meeting

Minutes from the April 25, 2019 meeting will be voted on later, as a quorum was not met.

Dr. Lauren Tacke-Cushing introduced Dr. Courtney Brewer as the new academic cochairperson. Dr. Brewer replaces Jill Thornton who stepped down as co-chairperson due to an enhanced role in the practical nursing program. It was noted that Dr. Brewer has been the faculty coordinator for general education assessment for many years and brings much experience to her new post.

The co-chairs discussed three goals for the 2019-2020 academic year: (1) To continue encouraging departments to submit annual assessments, (2) To develop a more efficient way for the AAC to provide constructive feedback in a positive way, including providing comments and results to departments after review, and (3) To implement the Assessment Awards. It was stated that one way to ensure feedback was provided to AES and academic departments would be to appoint a key person that would be in charge of feedback. Streamlining would make the reviewing process so much less cumbersome. Dr. Tacke-Cushing volunteered to discuss the possibility of incorporate Assessment Awards during Spring 2020 Professional Development Day.

The meeting was adjourned and members met in subcommittees.